Adan #releaseday #excerpt

Adan is out today on http://www.extasybooks.com/adan/

First things first, I probably won’t be able to answer any comments here or on Facebook until Tuesday as I’m traveling to Belgium right now. You can of course comment just know that I’m not ignoring you 🙂

Anyway. I had a pretty good idea of this book when I started writing it, but it took a very different turn, something I didn’t expect. I’m not really surprised. Adan isn’t the first character who decided to go his own merry way. Ani, for example, wasn’t supposed to exist. I’d planned a panda shifter for Dominic, but Ani popped in and decided he’d be the one to get the alpha, and who am I to disagree?

I hope you enjoy reading Adan as much as I enjoyed writing it. Oh, and I didn’t intend to make it a cliff-hanger. I’m not even sure it’s really one, because I’m sure everyone knows Delevan will have his own book. In fact, it’s book 20 in the Whitedell Pride series. Curious? You’ll have to read Adan to find out what I’m talking about 😉

Also, check out the Love Bytes third anniversary party and the Rainbow Gold Reviews second anniversary party on Facebook today. I’m giving away books in both parties.

Things are not always what they look like.

 Adan has been in a catatonic state ever since the pride rescued him from one of Glass’ labs—or at least that’s what everyone thinks, even the doctors. Jared has tried to find a solution for a year, but Adan isn’t getting better. Jared’s last resource is finding Adan’s mate, and when he finally does, things start changing.

Yanis has been asked to check if he’s Adan’s mate, and when he finds out he is, he’s scared. He wants his mate to be better, but he has no idea how to help. Adan seems to be breaking down, though, so Yanis spends time with him, until something happens.

Adan has locked himself in his own mind, scared of what he’d do if he didn’t. He already hurt two men, and the last thing he wants is a repeat of that, but his mate’s presence by his side is making staying in his mind hard. Still, Adan has every intention of doing just that, but the power he’s been trying to suppress flares out, and Yanis is hit.

When Adan finally comes out of his self-imposed isolation, he’s immediately put to work. Time is running out to find the mole, and Adan helps as well as he can, but will it be enough?

Adan300

Yanis left his room and walked to the infirmary. He was just entering the hallway where the infirmary was when a voice stopped him. “You!”

Yanis looked behind himself and found a pink-haired guy looking at him. Yanis knew who it was without even having to ask him. Nysys was becoming increasingly famous in Gillham. “Yes?”

Nysys stopped right in front of Yanis and looked at him. “You’re new.”

“Yes.”

“Why are you here?”

“Why are you?”

Nysys frowned. “What do you mean?”

“Why did you stop me? Is it just because you want to gossip?”

Nysys gasped. “I never gossip. I gather information. It’s not the same thing.”

“If you say so.”

Nysys narrowed his eyes. “I don’t think I like you.”

“Oh, I’m wounded.”

“As you should be. I don’t know how you’ll survive without my awesomeness.”

“Right. I think I’ll go now.” Yanis turned to walk away. He wasn’t surprised when Nysys followed him. “Don’t you have anything better to do?”

“Nope. Morin’s at work, Keenan is working, too, and I don’t have lessons today.”

Yanis knew who Keenan was, because where Nysys went, Keenan followed, but he had no idea who Morin was, and he wasn’t about to ask. “And you decided following me would be a good idea.”

“Yup. I still don’t know who you are. You could be one of those hunters, as far as I know. Maybe you infiltrated the mansion and you’re looking for Dominic so that you can kill him and wipe out the council.”

“If I was, don’t you think I’d have killed you? Not only are you a council member, but you also can’t seem to shut up.”

Nysys narrowed his eyes as Yanis pushed the infirmary door open. “Are you going to kill me? Are you taking me to the infirmary so you can strap me down and torture information out of me? I won’t tell you the recipe for my super chocolate cake, no matter what you do to me!”

Yanis cocked his head. “I’m not sure if you really are as crazy as you seem to be or if it’s just a show.”

“He’s crazy,” Jared said from his office.

Yanis grinned at the indignant noise Nysys made and strode to the office. “Hi.”

Jared looked up from his paperwork. “You’re here to see Adan?”

“Of course.”

“Why would he be here to see Adan?” Nysys asked from behind Yanis.

“Because he’s my mate,” Yanis answered, not even looking at him.

Nysys made a strangled noise and now Yanis had to look back. It wouldn’t do him any good to be accused of killing the pride’s mascot. Nysys looked fine, though, if a little surprised. “Your mate?” Nysys pushed Yanis to the side and stomped into Jared’s office. He pointed at Yanis. “That guy’s Adan’s mate?”

“Yes.” Jared answered.

“Why didn’t you tell me you found Adan’s mate?”

Jared leaned back in his chair and linked his fingers together on his stomach. “Why should I have?”

“Because! I always know everything that happens in this house. I can’t lose my reputation over something so important!”

“Right. Nysys, meet Yanis, lion shifter and Adan’s mate. Yanis, you already seem to know Nysys.”

Yanis shrugged. “Not really. I’ve heard of him, like the entire shifter population probably has, but that’s it. I didn’t know he was so annoying.”

Nysys huffed. “I’m sure of it now. I don’t like you.”

Yanis pressed his hand over his heart. “Again, I’m so hurt.” Damn, he was having the most fun he’d had in a while. Maybe living in the mansion would turn out to be a good thing, and not only because Yanis got to be with his mate.

Leave a Reply

